Leyte East adds hundreds of officers on Church’s anniversary


Date Posted: August 4, 2021

Previous slide
Next slide

As part of its commemoration of the 107th anniversary of the Iglesia Ni Cristo (Church Of Christ) on July 27, 2021, the Ecclesiastical District of Leyte East’s leadership sworn in hundreds of brethren appointed to various offices in local congregations across the district during a special gathering of Church officers.

Brother Eraño P. Fabella, district supervising minister, officiated at the holy gathering held at the house of worship of the Local Congregation of Tacloban City, which served as the host site. The whole proceeding was streamed live to a total of 74 remote sites most of which were the congregations’ houses of worship. These included that of Can-abay, Cansamada, New Era, San Miguel, and Tambis, where the Church officers were gathered.

In his Bible-based homily, Brother Fabella exhorted the would-be and the veteran Church officers, to be dedicated to fulfilling their God-given duties. They also received sound advice to zealously participate in all the activities of the Church, especially the intensive propagation of God’s words, so that more people will be saved come the Day of Judgment.

“We thank our God Almighty for this great blessing, that we are always reminded on how we can glorify God through fulfilling our divine obligations to Him. I promise that I will never forsake my Church duties no matter what situation I will face in this world,” said Brother Garry C. Diano, third head deacon of the Dulag Local Congregation. 

Newly sworn Church officer, Sister Richelle Joy Valiente, said: “I thank God Almighty for bestowing upon me this great blessing. Being a Church officer means being closer to God. This encouraged me to hold an office in the Church.”

The Ecclesiastical District of Leyte East is composed of 52 local congregations, nine extensions and two group worship services established in the eastern part of the island of Leyte, Philippines. The district office is situated within the compound of the Local Congregation of Tacloban City along Anibong-Downtown Road.